Southern Division
Midland is the third of the Canterbury districts taking in the area from Methven and Fairlie in the west across to the east coast and from the Rakaia River in the North down to the  Waitaki River in the South. Eleven lodges serve around 400 members with most lodges meeting in Ashburton or Timaru.

An early Master of the Caledonian Lodge was Timaru harbourmaster Captain Mills who perished in the tragic wrecking of the ships Benvenue and City of Perth in Timaru Harbour in 1882.

There is a unique Masonic connection to the shipwrecks as the Lodge of St John later struck a medallion for bravery to be presented to those who manned the lifeboats and took part in the rescue attempts to save lives as there was no appropriate bravery medal otherwise available at that time.

The full list of lodges in the district (and where they meet) are:

The Full list of Lodges in the District (in order of Lodge Number are):
The Caledonian Lodge No. 16
The Methven Lodge No. 51
The MacKenzie Lodge No. 93
St Augustine Lodge No. 99
Thistle Lodge No. 113
Lodge Timaru No. 196
Lodge Koranga No. 197
Lodge Erewhon No. 200
Harmony Lodge No. 325
Midland District Lodge of Research No. 436
Lodge Arowhenua No. 473